The Bears defense reminded me of this

I was watching the Super Bowl and could help remembering this entry that appeared on Seahawks.Net.

At the time everyone was trying to work out why the defense under Rhodes was always giving up underneath completions. In fact Rhodes would call for the CBs to be 7-10 yards off on 3 and short plays. The defense just couldn’t get off the field.

Anyway, here is a little taste of the discussion – Read the whole thing at the link below.

Ruskell. But I appreciate your topical interest. Anyway…the defense. Ray, what I’m hearing about you is that your schemes are low-rent and inflexible…that a high-school quarterback could pick them apart in minutes. I need you to show me your playbook so that I can get a handle on what plays you’re calling.
Rhodes: *&^%$#! Here ya go, I s’pose…
Ruskell: This is a napkin from McDonald’s.
Rhodes: Yeah? So?
Ruskell: THIS is your playbook?
Rhodes: (#%# yeah!
Ruskell (sighs) Well, let’s take a…THIS is the only play you’ve got going???
 Ray-Rhodes-Napkin-Gameplan
Rhodes: It’s deviously effective like a $^&*(&^%$%^&.
Ruskell: No it isn’t, Ray. The numbers don’t lie. It is NOT deviously effective like a $^&*(&^%$%^&. You’ve got ten of your eleven guys backing off on every play. What the hell is your outside linebacker doing?
Rhodes: My what?
Ruskell: Your. Outside. Linebacker. The one circle without an arrow.
Rhodes: Oh…the $^&*( outside circle guy. Yeah, that’s my secret weapon.
Ruskell: (hangs head, shakes head, look up sadly) Your…secret weapon?
Rhodes: Sure. Every tenth play, I blitz that guy. But don’t tell anyone.
Ruskell: Because it’s a secret.
Rhodes: You $%^& right!

Source: SportSpot.net > Ruskell & Rhodes – The First Meeting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.